I Love…

Calgoo Software

Calgoo Connect.  Having to manage work at school using a Dell laptop and being a strictly Mac household, some irritating incompatabilities arise.  I rely upon my Outlook mail/calendar at school to keep my sanity.  Although I am able to use a web-based client for outlook, it is not nearly as robust nor as versatile as I would like.  Prior to this summer, I think I had come to terms that I would just need to figure out work-arounds or just deal with the situation.

About a week ago, I was reading some tweets when someone mentioned using Calgoo.  I had no idea what it was, so I clicked on their tinyurl.  What I ended up using, which may be useful to others out there who live in two divergent computing worlds, was Calgoo Connect.  It is a simple to configure syncronization client that works with Google Calendar, iCal, Outlook and others.  The program runs in the background on your machines and quietly updates your calendars between one another whenever you schedule it to.  Using Google Calendars as a central hub (I am using Google Calendars for lesson planning this year), I don’t need to worry about remembering to add a task or detail to my calendar at work…it is already done once I enter it onto whichever calendar happens to be in front of me.  Oh, and did I mention it is free?!!

Leave a Reply

